Yes, the course is approved by the state of California under the California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 668.3. This course qualifies as a 3 Hour Boating Education Course.
If you own and want to operate a boat on waters in California, you are required to obtain a California Boater Card.
Yes, you can take our course at anytime day/night from any device with internet access. This means desktops, laptops, phones and IPAD type devices. Our course works on everything.
Yes, our entire website is secure. We’re required to be secure and safe by the DBW. You can verify our website is secure by looking for the “Lock” symbol in the address url bar window in upper left hand corner of page or simply look for the "https" in the address bar.
We offer different packages with various prices and features.Our Basic Package starts at $27.95 and has everything needed to obtain your California Boater Card. The upgraded packages simply offer more features, tracking numbers, verifications, expedited processing etc. Remember, we have a Low Price Guarantee and will match any competitors price offering the same product by crediting the difference back to the original payment method.
Click the “"Forgot Password" ” button on the login page. We'll email your forgotten password to you right away. If you don’t get an email from us shortly please be sure to check your spam, blocked, or “junk” email. We may be filtered out. Remember, your Username is your Drivers License number.
You will know course results immediately. Our course has quizzes after each chapter and one final exam of 60 questions. You have as many attempts as needed to pass quizzes and final exam. You must score 70% or higher to pass the final exam. Don't worry, everyone passes. It's easy!
The California Boat Card is proof that the holder has successfully taken and passed a NASBLA/state-approved boater safety exam. Since January 1, 2018, people wishing to operate a motorized vessel on California waterways need to carry the California Boat Card. The Card will be phased in over 8 years, depending on your age. Each year since January 2018 a new age group is added to those who are required to possess a valid card. The California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW) issues the card. Do your California approved boating safety course, print your Boating Certificate and then apply to get your California approved Boater Card.
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express. You can pay online with a credit card or ATM/Debit card. Paying by phone is an option with one of our live California based phone support agents Mon – Fri 8:00am – 5:00pm PST. If you'd like to go old school, we also accept cashiers checks or money orders.
A person under the age of 16 may not operate a motorboat of more than 15 horsepower unless the boat is a sailboat and does not exceed 30 feet in length - OR - the boat is a dinghy and is operated between a moored boat and shore, or to go between two moored boats. The California law does allow anyone aged 12-15 to operate motorboats of more than 15 horsepower, or sailboats over 30 feet, if they supervised by a person on board who is at least 18 years of age. PWC Operation: A person under the age of 16 may not operate a PWC of more than 15 horsepower unless that person is between the ages of 12 and 15, and is directly supervised by a person on board who is at least 18 years of age. Anyone who allows an unsupervised person under the age of 16 to operate is guilty of an offense.
Each year since January 2018 a new age group is added to those who are required to possess a valid card. From 2025, everyone operating a motorized vessel on California waterways will be required to carry the card. Once issued, the card is valid for life. The California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in schedule based on operator age:
- Persons 40 years of age or younger January 1, 2021
- Persons 45 years of age or younger January 1, 2022
- Persons 50 years of age or younger January 1, 2023
- Persons 60 years of age or younger January 1, 2024
- All persons regardless of age January 1, 2025
Yes! You can start and stop the course as many times as you’d like. Our course automatically saves your progress.
- A person operating a rental vessel.
- A person operating a vessel while under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or older who is in possession of a boating license.
- A person who is a resident of a state other than California who is temporarily operating a vessel in California for less than 60 days and meets the boating requirements, if any, of his/her state.
- A person who is a resident of a country other than the United States who is temporarily operating a vessel in California for less than 90 days and meets the boating requirements, if any, of his/her country.
- A person operating a vessel in an organized regatta or vessel race, or water ski race.
- A person who is in possession of a current commercial fishing license.
- A person who is in possession of a valid marine operator license, for the waters upon which the licensee is operating, issued by the US Coast Guard, or who is in possession of a valid certificate issued pursuant to the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers, 1978, as amended.
- A person who has successfully completed a boating course approved by the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
In the unlikely event that you do not pass our final exam, which of course you have multiple times to retake the exam if necessary, we would be more than happy to refund your payment in the method that you originally paid. Remember that you have multiple chances to read the material and take the final exam if necessary.
This course meets the requirements for a 3 hour California DBW licensed course.
Our course meets the DBW’s minimum course length requirement and is broken into 6 chapters. All DBW online courses are required to be a certain length. Don’t be fooled by boater courses with fewer chapters! It’s a gimmick to fool you.
We process all our students certificates of completion electronically. Immediately following successful completion of the final exam, you will be able to access and download your Completion Certificate from your account. This downloaded Completion Certificate can also be used as a temporary boater card while you wait for your permanent card from the state website.
Yes, the California Boat Card will be required for everyone wishing to operate a motorized vessel, including jet skis and PWC, on California waters (except those listed in the exemptions).
The California Boating Card is often called a “boat license”. The California Boating Card is mandatory for boating sinceJanuary 1, 2018. Unlike a license, the Boater Card does not expire and does not need to be renewed.
Yes! All states with NASBLA-approved boater education requirements will accept the California Boater Card.
Contact our live local Legendary Customer Support Team based in California. We are here to help!
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm PST