How Online Boating School Works

Actually, It's All Pretty Simple...

All boaters are not currently required, but will be by 2025. The California Boater Card law is being phased-in by age. By 2025, all motorized vessel operators will be required to complete an approved boating safety course and apply for a California Boater Card. Please see the phase in schedule below:

California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in schedule based on operator age:

  • January 1, 2018 – Persons 20 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2019 – Persons 25 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2020 – Persons 35 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2021 – Persons 40 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2022 – Persons 45 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2023 – Persons 50 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2024 – Persons 60 years of age or younger
  • January 1, 2025 – All persons regardless of age

Prior to taking the final exam, students will be required to verify & submit their Application ID number, which is issued by the State (DBW) upon successful completion of your California Boater Card Application. If you have not yet applied for this card, you can do so by visiting CaliforniaBoaterCard.com. Upon successfully passing this approved online boater education course, we automatically send student exam results to DBW. Once exam results are received, DBW will email the temporary boater card directly to the student. Official boater card should arrive in the mail within 2-4 weeks. That's it!

1.) Register for the Course

We'll need some specific information when you register like Name, Address, DL #,etc....so, please come prepared when registering. Our course is fully DBW certified & meets the requirements for obtaining a California Boater Card and meets the state-required 3 hours, which you may work through at whatever pace is comfortable for you. Registering is easy and only takes a couple minutes. What are you waiting for? Get your boater card now and hit the lake with the fastest boater course on the web!

2.) Determine Number of People to Register

We offer group discounts for additional family members or friends who would like to take this DBW approved course. Remember, California boating law requires all boaters to obtain and carry a California Boater Card (CBC) while operating a recreational motorized vessel on California waterways. If family members plan on driving the family boat, take advantage of our group discounts. Register Now!

3.) Receive Certificate of Completion

Once you've passed your final exam, your exam results will be electronically sent to the State (DBW) and you will receive your temporary boater card by email from DBW. If you would like a copy of your course completion certificate, that is available for download in your account. Once the state approves your application, they will process and send you the permanent Boater Card in the mail within 2-4 weeks. The card is good for life.

We recommend that you follow-up with the State (DBW) if you have not received your Boater Card within 30 days, as there may something wrong with your application or your payment has not been processed. Your temporary Boater Card and your official Boater Card are the only two documents accepted by law enforcement as proof of compliance out on the water.

Have Questions?

Contact our live local Legendary Customer Support Team based in California. We are here to help!


Phone or Text Support:

(800) 810-3446
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm PST


After Hours Support:

info@safe2boat.com